Chapter 2: Roxanne

My Mom and dad left me waiting to board on the plane in the waiting lounge. I bought a doughnut from the cafe that was there it was delicious.

I imagined how life would change once I got to Darswit, No more mum, Dad, my siblings it was kind of sad but more exciting. I’d never been given the chance to do things on my own, not really. I imagined how my boarding school would look like to me the picture was pretty much like what you saw in movies and read about in books. Plane simple rooms with bunks or canopy beds, I started to worry about not fitting in. About people teasing me about my hair and height again.

You should probably know this ,I am 5’10 and a red head. Yes, apparently that is all you need to be called a ‘Freak’. One of the other things that i’d really get annoyed with sometimes was the way people stared at me. I mean c’mon I can’t be the only 5 foot 10 inch red head in the world, right?

So Yeah those were the apparent reasons to what I was teased at school for.

As I sat there pondering a hand tapped my shoulder and I jumped a little.

To my right there was a girl, looking worried, She had wavy brunette hair and it fell on her shoulders she also had pale blue eyes, which were hard to not stare at.

‘Excuse me, but.. are you from flight DW3454?’ she asked me

she was speaking quite softly. I could barely hear her.

‘yes, i am,’ I replied

she gave a sigh of relief , then again said ‘Phew, you know for a second i thought i was the only one here my age’

‘I’m sorry what?’ I didn’t hear her as she was whispering

‘When I heard the announcement i thought-

‘Wait, did you say announcement? what announcement’ I cut her off

‘How could you sit here ad miss the announcement, Our flight got delayed’ she said

‘WHAT?’ I asked

‘OUR FLIGHT GOT DEEELAAAYED’ she said loud ad clear for the first time since we started the converation

‘I know but ho-what happened?’ I asked

she smiled, then said ‘ Do you really expect me to know that?’

I could’t believe it how could i miss the announcement, was I that lost

For some reason I didn’t want to believe her so I went up to the security guy who was standing on the other end of the room

‘Excuse me sir but, has our flight been delayed’ I asked him

he looked at me weirdly and then said ‘ Yes, It has been, for 2 hours’

‘2 HOURS? a-are you sure?’

‘yes Ma’m I’m sure’ he said

‘okay thank you’

I went back and sat down. I wasn’t scared or worried, I was actually relaxed I mean why would I be worried the flight was just DELAYED nothing else. The girl was gone

I took out my iPod and put in my earphones, sat back closed my eyes and listened to No Doubt which happened to be one of my favorite bands. Only it wasn’t a band anymore, and that was kind of sad but I still loved them.

After what seemed like 20 minutes, in the midst of listening to ‘Don’t Speak’ I felt My cell phone vibrating in my pocket.

Oh God, Please don’t let it be mom I prayed

Uh-Oh it WAS mom

I answered the call ‘Heey Mom’ I said in a cheerful tone

‘Zara, how are you sweetie are you alright? Are you on the plane right now?’ she asked

I decided to tell mom despite the fact that I knew that she was totally going to freak out, but I thought I’d better tell her before she calls and asks gramm if I’ve arrived safely

‘uhh Mom about that, erm our flight got delayed’ I said

‘What how!? honey are you okay don’t panic How long has it been delayed? are you worried? don’t be worried love it’ll be okay. WHY DIDN’T YOU TELL ME?’ she talked ad went on and then she started freaking out

Typical I thought to my self

‘Mom…Mom, MOM!… I am fine. I am absolutely fine. No I am not panicking and The i’ll be on the plane in about 1 1/2 hours Okay? Don’t worry.’ I said calmly

She relaxed. I guessed she was worried about me being worried.

We disconnected and I went back to listening to my songs.

After a while the girl came back again

‘What are you listening to?’ She spoke

‘ Paramore’ I replied

She nodded then said ‘ So why are you going to Dublin again?’

I sat up straight looked at her and then asked ‘Whats your name?’

‘Oh I can’t believe it we’ve been talking but we don’t even know each other’s name, call me Roxanne’

‘Zara’

‘ Lovely, so why are you going to Darswit?’ she said

‘ Oh you kno- Hey wait a minute I never told you that!’ I exclaimed

She bit her lip then said ‘ Yeah you did you said you weren’t going to Dublin you-

‘ No I didn’t how did you know ?’ I demanded

‘Okay Okay, I made a lucky guess’ she replied innocently

But I wasn’t convinced and still confused.

Now that I recall, its funny how at that moment the only possibility of Roxanne  knowing that I was going to Darswit in my mind was that she’d gone through my bag and found my grandmother’s home address I’d written o a piece of paper,while I was lost in my own world, and it worried me.

And I wasn’t going to let her get away with it so I asked ‘ Tell me?’

How did you know about me going to Darswit?’

‘ I told you you it was a lucky guess’ she said

‘ No it wasn’t, I know it wasn’t’ I was getting angry now

‘ Look I guessed, i’m good at that’ She said even more nervously

‘ No even if that is true I know that you didn’t guess here’ I told her

‘ Fine I did not guess, you satisfied?’ she said

‘No I want to know how you knew’ I said calmly

‘Why? why does it even matter?’ She asked me

‘Well it does matter, random people don’t just come and say “hey i know you’re not REALLY going to Dublin you’re going to”‘ I said

She sighed then muttered ‘I hate my self’

‘ Look if I told you you’d probably, either laugh and call me mad or report me to the police as some psycho’ she told me

‘Seriously? I don’t think so’ I told her

‘You’re really stubborn you know’ she said

Then she whispered ‘I can read minds’

‘What!?’ I stared at her

‘I knew it’ She said to her self  ‘ I just knew it, she can’t be the one she never was, I hate my self’

I stared at her ‘Excuse me?’ I said

But she was gone she picked her bags and left.

I didn’t want to worry, I hated worrying, so I forgot that this ever happened and decided to call Mom and see how everyone was doing when I heard a lady’s voice coming from the speakers

‘Passengers travelling from flight DW3454 please getting ready for boarding’

Finally I thought

I took my hand luggage and stood in the line, waiting to board on the plane.

 

 

 

To be continued

 

About Dost

i love writing whenever i feel motivated i pour my heart out in my stories. I write here to share my stories with other people and for my own pleasure. If you do not like my stories you are free to never read them again p.s: do not judge i'm barely 16 and so not a professional

Leave a comment